Notary - Oath of Office

Notary 3

The Register of Deeds office administers Notary Public oaths to Beaufort County notaries. When an individual has received his/her notary commission notice from the NC Secretary of State’s office, the individual must take their oath within 45 days of the oath notification issue date at the Register of Deeds in your commission county. Once you have taken your oath, you will receive a certificate. There is a $10 fee to administer the oath. Please bring your ID with you. We accept cash, debit/credit cards, and checks.
The North Carolina Secretary of State issues the Notaries Public their Notary Commission and has jurisdiction to enforce the Notary Public laws.
Link to North Carolina Secretary of State’s web site
  • Requirements to become a Notary
  • Requirements for Reappointment
  • Requirements for Name Change/Address Change
  • Forms